Awards and Honors

Tuesday, 08 June 08:00 – 10:00

Awards and Honors from IEEE Communications Society, IEEE Photonics Society, The Optical Society (OSA), and the OSA Foundation will be presented during the 2021 Plenary Session. Each organization has a rich history of celebrating and recognizing professional achievements, outstanding contributions and rising stars.

John Tyndall Award
Presented by IEEE Photonics Society and The Optical Society
Funded by Corning Incorporated

The award is bestowed upon an individual who has made outstanding contributions in any area of optical-fiber technology, including optical fibers themselves, the optical components used in fiber systems, as well as transmission systems and networks using fibers. Contributions, which may be experimental or theoretical, should have met the test of time and been of proven benefit to science, technology, or society. 

The award was established in 1987 to honor the memory of John Tyndall who made distinguished contributions to physics, particularly his demonstration of total internal reflection in a continuous stream of water.

Corning Scholarship for Women in Optical Communications
Presented by The OSA Foundation
Funded by Corning Incorporated

Presented to outstanding women studying optical communications and networking. Three recipients are selected annually.

Corning Outstanding Student Paper Competition
Presented by The OSA Foundation
Funded by Corning Incorporated

The competition recognizes the innovation, research excellence and presentation abilities of OFC’s students. Six finalists will present their paper to the competition committee in a private conference session.

Tingye Li Innovation Prize
Presented by The OSA Foundation
Funded by Alliance Fiber Optic Products, Inc., AT&T, The OSA Foundation, IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Communications Society, Thorlabs, Inc, The Li Family and supporters of the Tingye Li Memorial Fund

Presented to an early-career professional who has demonstrated innovative ideas in their accepted presentation during the OFC Conference.

IEEE/The Optical Society Journal of Lightwave Technology (JLT) Best Paper Award
Presented by IEEE and The Optical Society

Awarded by the Journal’s Coordinating and Steering Committees to the top cited original paper published in the Journal, as determined by a variety of citation metrics and databases. Copies of the winning papers will be made open access on the IEEE Xplore Digital Library.

The Optical Society (OSA) Fellows
Recognizes members who have served with distinction in the advancement of optics and photonics through distinguished contributions to education, research, engineering, business and society. The number of Fellows is limited by the Society's bylaws.

IEEE Communications Society Charles Kao Award for Best Optical Communications & Networking Paper
Funded by IEEE Communications Society and the IEEE Foundation

Presented for papers published in the OSA/IEEE Journal of Optical Communications and Networking (JOCN) that open new lines of research, envision bold approaches to optical communication and networking, formulate new problems to solve and essentially enlarge the field of optical communications and networking. Papers published in the prior three calendar years of JOCN are eligible.

IEEE Photonics Society Fellows
A distinction reserved for select IEEE members who have achieved extraordinary accomplishments in an IEEE field of interest(s) and are deemed fitting of the prestigious grade elevation. In order to become a fellow, one must be nominated for IEEE Fellow Grade and fall under one of the four nomination categories: Application Engineer/Practitioner; Educator; Research Engineer/Scientist; Technical Leader.