• Technical Conference:  30 March – 03 April 2025
  • Exhibition: 01 – 03 April 2025
  • Moscone Center, San Francisco, California, USA

OFC Co-Sponsors Recognize Leaders in Optics


Fellows named by IEEE/ComSoc, IEEE/Photonics Society and The Optical Society; award winners announced.
The annual OFC awards luncheon, held Tuesday, 24 March 2015, recognizes winners and new Fellows from OFC’s three sponsoring societies: IEEE Communications Society, IEEE Photonics Society and The Optical Society.  The program highlighted excellence among students, scientists and industry professionals.
“OSA is greatly honored to recognize these leaders in the field of optics,” said Elizabeth Rogan, CEO, The Optical Society. “The recipients have demonstrated an expertise and leadership in their chosen field and have made significant contributions to the understanding of optics and photonics. OSA congratulates them on their outstanding achievements.”  
IEEE Photonics Society Executive Director Christopher Jannuzzi, added, “The Tyndall award was designed specifically to recognize pioneers in fiber optics technology such as Paul Daniel Dapkus. We are honored to offer recognition for his significant contributions to the development of vapor deposition and semiconductor lasers.”
Awards presented during Tuesday’s program include:
IEEE ComSoc Fellows
John Dallasasse, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA; Frank Effenberger, Huawei Technologies, Inc., USA; and David Richardson, University of Southhampton, UK.
IEEE Photonics Society Fellows
John Dallasasse, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA; Frank Effenberger, Huawei Technologies, Inc., USA; Ming-Jun Li , Corning Incorporated, USA; Tadao Nagatsuma, Osaka University, Japan; Sundaram Ramesh, California State University,  USA; Haruhisa Soda, FiBest Limited, Japan; Yuichi Tohmori, NTT Electronics, Japan; Yurii Vlasov IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, USA
The Optical Society Fellows
Gabriella Cincotti, University Roma Tre, Italy; Frank Effenberger; Huawei Technologies, USA; Jeffrey H. Hunt, The Boeing Company, USA; Inuk Kang, LGS Innovations LLC, USA; Kazuro Kikuchi, University of Tokyo, Japan; Keisuke Kojima, Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratories, USA; Sophie La Rochelle Université Laval, Canada; Sang Bae Lee, Korea Institute of Science & Technology, Korea; Dan M. Marom, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel; Tanya Monro; University of South Australia, Australia; Roland Ryf; Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent, USA; Chongjin Xie, Alibaba Group, USA; Xiaotian Steve Yao , General Photonics Corporation, USA; and Xiang Zhou, Google Inc., USA
Paul Anthony Bonenfant  Memorial Scholarship 2015 Winner
Victorine Muse, Cornell, USA
Tingye Li Innovation Prize 2015 Winner
Dr. Tae Joon Seok , University of California, Berkeley, USA
John Tyndall Award 2015 Winner
Paul Daniel Dapkus, W. M. Keck Distinguished Professor of Engineering University of Southern California, USA
Corning Outstanding Student Paper Competition  2015 Grand Prize Winner
Andrea Sgambelluri, Scuola Superiore Sant Anna di Pisa Italy
Corning Outstanding Student Paper Competition 2015 Honorable Mentions
Stefano Grillanda , Politecnico di Milano Italy
Binbin Guan , University of California Davis, USA
IEEE/OSA Journal of Lightwave Technology Best Paper Award
Mode-Division Multiplexing over 96 km of Few-Mode fiber using coherent 6 x 6 MIMO Processing, lead author: Roland Ryf
IEEE/OSA Journal of Lightwave Technology Best Paper Award 
Modeling of the Impact of Nonlinear Propagation Effects in Uncompensated Optical Coherent Transmission Links, lead author: Andrea Carena

Posted: 24 March 2015 by OFC | with 0 comments

Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.
 Security code

The views expressed in this blog are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views or policies of The Optical Fiber Communication Conference and Exposition (OFC)  or its sponsors.