# The Optical Society Names 17 Recipients for 2021 OSA Awards

WASHINGTON—The Optical Society (OSA) is pleased to announce 17 recipients of 2021 OSA awards and medals. Throughout the year, OSA will recognize a total of 23 awardees for their distinguished achievements. Among those honored this year are the first women to win the Max Born Award, C.E.K. Mees Medal, and John Tyndall Award.

The OSA Awards Program celebrates the field's technical, research, education, business, leadership and service accomplishments. More information is available at osa.org/awards.

"The 2021 Awardees truly embody the Society's core values of innovation, integrity, inclusivity and impact," said 2021 OSA President Connie Chang-Hasnain, Whinnery Chair Professor Emerita of EECS at University of California, Berkeley, USA. "They now join the ranks of OSA honorees who have greatly influenced the global optics and photonics community. In addition, I applaud the efforts of those who nominated candidates, submitted references and participated on the selection committees."

The 2021 recipients are:

#### **Esther Hoffman Beller Medal**

Nicholas Massa, Springfield Technical Community College, USA

For outstanding leadership in photonics technician education, including the development and dissemination of innovative educational materials

### **Max Born Award**

Anne L'Huillier, Lund University, Sweden

For pioneering work in ultrafast laser science and attosecond physics, realizing and understanding high harmonic generation and applying it to time-resolved imaging of electron motion in atoms and molecules

# Stephen D. Fantone Distinguished Service Award

Anthony M. Johnson, University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC), USA For decades of principled leadership and steadfast service to The Optical Society and to the optics community, and especially for serving as a tireless ambassador for OSA

## Michael S. Feld Biophotonics Award

Arjun Yodh, University of Pennsylvania, USA

For pioneering research on optical sensing in scattering media, especially diffuse optical and correlation spectroscopy and tomography, and for advancing the field of biophotonics through mentorship

## Joseph Fraunhofer Award / Robert M. Burley Prize

Zeev Zalevsky, Bar-Ilan University, Isreal

For significant contributions to the field of optical super-resolution including the invention of many novel concepts bypassing Abbe's limits of diffraction and the geometric limits set by the sensor

## Nick Holonyak Jr. Award

Martin D. Dawson, University of Strathclyde and Fraunhofer, UK

For wide-ranging contributions to the development and application of III-V semiconductor devices especially

including gallium nitride micro-LEDs and optically-pumped semiconductor lasers

## **Robert E. Hopkins Leadership Award**

<u>Pierre Chavel</u>, Institut d'Optique, France

For outstanding support and promotion of optics throughout Europe, and exceptional leadership in institutions and scientific societies such as OSA, SPIE, ICO, EOS, and SFO

#### **Emmett N. Leith Medal**

Bahram Javidi, University of Connecticut, USA

For exceptional innovation and transformative technological impact on the field information optics, including pioneering contributions to digital holography for life sciences, information security, optical sensing, and processing of photon starved scenes

**Ellis R. Lippincott Award** (presented with the Coblentz Society and the Society for Applied Spectroscopy) **Rohit Bhargava**, Univ of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

For contributions to the fundamental physics and instrument engineering of mid-IR microscopy and its applications to medical imaging

### **Adolph Lomb Medal**

Laura Waller, University of California Berkeley, USA

For important contributions to the advancement of computational microscopy and its applications

#### C.E.K. Mees Medal

Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop, University of Queensland, Australia

For pioneering innovations in the transfer of optical angular momentum to particles, using sculpted light for laser manipulation on atomic, nano- and microscales to generate fundamental insight and provide powerful probes to biomedicine

## William F. Meggers Award

Keith Nelson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

For expanding the horizons of impulsive stimulated Raman scattering (ISRS) to the generation of intense tunable terahertz pulses, thus establishing new transient-grating techniques for a more effective application of time-domain coherent nonlinear spectroscopy in the study of condensed phase molecular dynamics

#### **David Richardson Medal**

Majid Ebrahim-Zadeh, ICFO-The Institute of Photonic Sciences & ICREA-Catalan Institution for Research and Advanced Studies, Barcelona, Spain

For contributions to the advancement of nonlinear optical technology and commercial development of cutting-edge optical parametric oscillators

#### **Kevin P. Thompson Optical Design Innovator Award**

Rengmao Wu, Zhejiang University, China

For achievements in theory and computational methods for freeform illumination optics

# **Edgar D. Tillyer Award**

David H Brainard, University of Pennsylvania, USA

For groundbreaking experimental and theoretical contributions to our understanding of how the visual system resolves the ambiguities inherent in sensory signals to produce a stable percept of object color

#### **Charles Hard Townes Medal**

## Mikhail Lukin, Harvard University, USA

For his pioneering theoretical and experimental contributions to quantum nonlinear optics and quantum information science and technology, and for the development and application of nanoscale quantum systems for sensing

# R. W. Wood Prize

<u>Tobias Kippenberg</u>, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland For pioneering contributions to the realization of chip-scale optical frequency combs

# **About The Optical Society**

Founded in 1916, The Optical Society (OSA) is the leading professional organization for scientists, engineers, students and business leaders who fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. Through world-renowned publications, meetings and membership initiatives, OSA provides quality research, inspired interactions and dedicated resources for its extensive global network of optics and photonics experts. For more information, visit <u>osa.org</u>.

## **Media Contact**

mediarelations@osa.org