John Tyndall Award

About Us

The John Tyndall Award is presented to an individual who has made outstanding contributions in any area of optical-fiber technology, including optical fibers themselves, the optical components used in fiber systems, as well as transmission systems and networks using fibers. Contributions should have met the test of time and been of proven benefit to science, technology, or society. The contributions may be experimental or theoretical.

The award was established in 1987 to honor the memory of John Tyndall who made distinguished contributions to physics, particularly his demonstration of total internal reflection in a continuous stream of water. It is jointly presented by The Optical Society (OSA) and IEEE Photonics Society at OFC, and is funded by Corning, Incorporated.

Nominations for the 2022 award are due 10 August.





Mailing Address

OSA Awards Office

IEEE Photonics Society Awards Office