The Optical Networking and Communication
Conference & Exhibition

San Diego Convention Center,
San Diego, California, USA

Will Optical Switching Drive Data Center Design in 2028?

Sunday, March 11, 2018
12:30 PM - 3:30 PM

Event type: Workshop

Room number: 6C


Haoshuo Chen, Nokia Bell Labs, USA; Piero Gambini, STMicroelectronics, Italy, Richard Jensen, Polatis, USA; Hiroyuki Tsuda, Keio University, Japan


After a 10-year exponential traffic growth to 2028, increased server numbers and required single link capacity will pose challenges for both hardware and software in intra- and inter- data center applications.

New architectures based on advanced optical switching technologies can potentially lower energy consumption and support the enhanced capacity.

  1. Starting from a visionary overview, the workshop will focus on:

  2. How will capacity per link, switching performance and power consumption drive the architecture evolution?

  3. Which dimension: space, wavelength or time (packet) will be more cost- and energy- efficient for optical switching? How can photonic integration be used to lower the cost of optical switching and improve the performance?

  4. How will other building blocks, such as new optical fiber and transceivers, influence the choice of optical switching technology?

It will be a team competition workshop including four teams with their proposed data center infrastructures optimized for a 5 and 10 year time span.



Team A
Shu Namiki, AIST, Japan, Team Leader
Chris Cole, Finisar, USA
Christian Koos, KIT, Germany
Tomohiro Kudoh, University of Tokyo, Japan

Team B
Georgios Zervas, UCL, UK, Team Leader
Hitesh Ballani, Microsoft Research Cambridge, UK
Nikos Pleros, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece

Team C
David Neilson, Nokia Bell Labs, USA, Team Leader
George Papen, UCSD, USA
Ming Wu, UC Berkeley, USA

Team D
Oded Raz, Tu/e, The Netherlands, Team Leader
Cyriel Minkenberg, Rockley Photonics, USA
Nick Parsons, Polatis, USA

Panel of Experts:
Gilad Goldfarb, Facebook, USA
Joseph M. Kah, Stanford University, USA
Yikai Su, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
Dirk van den Borne, Juniper, USA
Joris Van Campenhout, IMEC, Belgium
Vijay Vusirikala, Google, USA

Sponsored by: