Home > Submit Papers > Corning Outstanding Student Paper Competition

Corning Outstanding Student Paper Competition

The Corning Outstanding Student Paper Competition recognizes innovation, research excellence, and presentation abilities in optical communications. The competition is endowed by a grant from Corning Incorporated and administered by the OSA Foundation. To be eligible for consideration students must submit a paper to OFC and opt-in to the competition during the submissions process.

Criteria for Eligibility

All the following criteria must be met:

  • Submitting author must opt-in to the competition during the regular submissions process and follow all of the instructions provided on the submission site.
  • Presenting author must be an undergraduate or graduate student of an educational institution of collegiate grade who is devoting more than half-time to studies within the institution, at the time the paper was written.
  • Paper must be submitted and accepted during the regular “call for papers” process for OFC (Note: Postdeadline Papers are not part of this competition).
  • The paper must be presented orally by the student author during the conference.

Selection Process

  • All properly submitted papers are reviewed and scored according to standard OFC Technical Program Committee review criteria.
  • Ten–twelve (10–12) papers will be selected as semi-finalists.
  • Status notification will be sent via email following the Technical Program Committee’s decision. A separate notification regarding paper acceptance will also be sent.
  • Finalists are required to submit a form signed by their advisor acknowledging their contribution to the paper presented. A copy of the form will be sent via email with the status notification.
  • The Corning Outstanding Student Paper Competition Committee will select 5–6 finalists from the pool of semi-finalists.
  • Finalists are judged on innovation, research excellence and presentation skills. Each finalist will present their paper to the Competition Committee in a private session during the conference. Finalists are required to submit their presentation for the private session no later than Monday, 10 February 2014.
  • One first prize winner and two honorable mention winners will be selected. The first prize winner receives $1,500 USD and two honorable mention winners receive $1,000 USD each. Competition results are announced on-site during the Plenary and Awards Session.

2013 Results

First Prize Winner

Robert Palmer, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Paper: Silicon-Organic Hybrid (SOH) Modulator Generating up to 84 Gbit/s BPSK and M-ASK Signals

Honorable Mentions

Siddharth Jain, The University of California, Santa Barbara, USA
Paper: Hybrid Silicon Transmitter using Quantum Well Intermixing

Abhinav Rohit, Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands
Paper: 8×8 Space and Wavelength Selective Cross-connect for Simultaneous Dynamic Multi-wavelength Routing


Ui Hyun Hong, Korean Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea
Paper: A Simple Carrier-Phase Estimation Technique for High-Speed RSOA-based Coherent WDM PON

Zhihong Li, University of Southampton, UK
Paper: Thulium-doped Fiber Amplifier for Optical Communications at 2µm

Tatsunori Omiya, Tohoku University, Japan
Paper: 400 Gbit/s 256 QAM-OFDM Transmission over 720 km with a 14 bit/s/Hz Spectral Efficiency Using an Improved FDE Technique

2012 Results

First Prize
Eric Numkam Fokoua, University of Southampton, United Kingdom

Honorable Mentions
An Li, University of Melbourne, Australia
Nicole Lindenmann, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Carl Lundstrom, Chaimers University of Technology, Sweden
Irene Yang, California Institute of Technology, United States
Qunbi Zuge, McGill University, Canada

2011 Results

First Prize
Liang Du, Monash Univ., Australia

Honorable Mentions
Jose Manuel Delgado Mendinueta, Univ. College London , UK
Neil Guerrero Gonzalez, Technical Univ. of Denmark, Denmark

Chamil Jayasundara, The Univ. of Melbourne, Australia
Seung Pil Jung, KAIST, Republic of Korea
Maria Spyropoulou, National Technical Univ. of Athens, Greece

2010 Results

First Prize
David Hillerkuss, Karlsruhe Inst. of TechnologyGermany

Honorable Mentions
Jonas Geyer, Univ. of Erlangen-NurembergGermany
David Sinefeld, Hebrew Univ. of JerusalemIsrael

Sergejs Makovejs, Univ. College LondonUK
Quoc Nguyen, Univ. de RennesFrance

2009 Results

First Prize
Jeffrey Lee, Eindhoven Univ. of Technology, The Netherlands

Honorable Mentions
Mohammad Alfiad, Eindhoven Univ. of Technology, The Netherlands
Bo Zhang, Univ. of Southern California, USA

Cleitus Antony, Univ. College Cork, Ireland
Quoc Thai Nguyen, FOTON-ENSSAT, France
Mamoru Takagi, Univ. of Tokyo, Japan
Ming-Chun Tien, Univ. of California at Berkeley, USA

2008 Results

First Prize
Frederik Van Laere, Ghent Univ.-IMEC, Belgium

Honorable Mentions
Mohammad Alfiad, Eindhoven Univ. of Technology, The Netherlands
Matthew Dummer, Univ. of California, Santa Barbara, USA

Brian Koch, Univ. of California, Santa Barbara, USA
Arup Polley, Georgia Inst. of Technology, USA
Michael Swan, Univ. of Michigan, USA