Corning Outstanding Student Paper Competition

2014 Corning Outstanding Student Paper Competition Grand Prize winner Johannes von Lindeiner

OSA Foundation

The Corning Outstanding Student Paper Competition recognizes innovation, research excellence, and presentation abilities in optical communications. The competition is endowed by a grant from Corning Incorporated and administered by the OSA Foundation. To be eligible for consideration students must submit a paper to OFC and opt-in to the competition during the submissions process.

Criteria for Eligibility

All the following criteria must be met:

  • Submitting author must opt-in to the competition during the regular submissions process and follow all of the instructions provided on the submission site.
  • Presenting author must be an undergraduate or graduate student of an educational institution of collegiate grade who is devoting more than half-time to studies within the institution, at the time the paper was written.
  • Paper must be submitted and accepted during the regular “call for papers” process for OFC (Note: Postdeadline Papers are not part of this competition).
  • The paper must be presented orally by the student author during the conference.

Selection Process

  • All properly submitted papers are reviewed and scored according to standard OFC Technical Program Committee review criteria.
  • Ten–twelve (10–12) papers will be selected as semi-finalists.
  • Status notification will be sent via email following the Technical Program Committee’s decision. A separate notification regarding paper acceptance will also be sent.
  • Finalists are required to submit a form signed by their advisor acknowledging their contribution to the paper presented. A copy of the form will be sent via email with the status notification.
  • The Corning Outstanding Student Paper Competition Committee will select 5–6 finalists from the pool of semi-finalists.
  • Finalists are judged on innovation, research excellence and presentation skills. Each finalist will present their paper to the Competition Committee in a private session during the conference. Finalists are required to submit their presentation for the private session no later than Monday, 10 February 2014.
  • One first prize winner and two honorable mention winners will be selected. The first prize winner receives $1,500 USD and two honorable mention winners receive $1,000 USD each. Competition results are announced on-site during the Plenary and Awards Session.

Recipients and Finalists

2014 Grand Prize

Johannes von Lindeiner
Johannes von Lindeiner 

University of Cambridge 
United Kingdom

Honorable Mentions

Samuel Olsson
Samuel Olsson 
Chalmers University of Technology

Shohei Beppu
Shohei Beppu 
Tohoku University


Jose Estaran
Jose Estaran
Danmarks Tekniske Universitet

Hou Tzu Huang
Hou-Tzu Huang
National Chiao-Tung University

Sangyoon Han
Sangyoon Han
University of California, Berkeley
United States